A letter to Bates on my Morehouse Experience

Me and some of the my Morehouse brothers at the Mr. AKA sororiety pageant

Me and some of the my Morehouse brothers at the Mr. AKA sororiety pageant

All is well here in the Atlanta University Center! The “House” is home. I feel like I’m starring in an episode of the sitcom “A Different World”. There is so much to do. There is a party every single day. On Monday there are various activities like maybe a spoken word night, on Tuesday’s its AUC Tuesday at a local club downtown Atlanta, on Wednesday there is a block party at Morehouse, on Thursday there is Market Thursdays at Clark and Friday there is Market Fridays at Spelman. There are a number of student clubs as well. And the weekend are always jam pack with parties, sporting events, and time to hang out and relax with folks.

Orientation went well. It is here that you develop a keen sense of Morehouse history, its legacy, and the expectations of a “Man of Morehouse” I have been inspired by the rich legacy of this institution. With such humble beginnings and so few resources Morehouse has somehow produced some of the greatest thinkers, professionals and leaders that our world has seen. I’m walking the halls and pathways of Black history and that brings joy to my soul.

Thus far, I have joined three organizations. I’m a member of the MLK International Chapel, Chapel Assistants program, which is a organization for young men aspiring to become ministers.  Morehouse Chaplain, Dean Lawrence Carter is the advisor of  the organization. I’m also a Chaplain Assistant at Spelman. I additionally joined a faith base and social justice organization at Spelman called Righteous Noise. We are currently  planning a domestic violence play be performed in October.  Through these organizations, I have met some very positive people.

I spoke with President Franklin and I have encountered Dean Carter frequently. I’m also working with Danny Bellinger in Admissions on bringing a student from Morehouse to Bates for either next semester or the fall semester 2009. I think I am making much progress with this.

The food here is great (o that southern food!) and I love the smoothies All is well here in the Atlanta University Center. Mr. Carter, The “House” is home. I feel like I’m starring in an episode of the sitcom “A Different World”. There is so much to do. There is a party every single day. On Monday there are various activities like maybe a spoken word night, on Tuesday’s its AUC Tuesday at a local club downtown Atlanta, on Wednesday there is a block party at Morehouse, on Thursday there is Market Thursdays at Clark and Friday there is Market Fridays at Spelman. There are a number of student clubs as well. And the weekend are always jam pack with parties, sporting events, and time to hang out and relax with folks.

Orientation went well. It is here that you develop a keen sense of Morehouse history, its legacy, and the expectations of a “Man of Morehouse” I have been inspired by the rich legacy of this institution. With such humble beginnings and so few resources Morehouse has somehow produced some of the greatest thinkers, professionals and leaders that our world has seen. I’m walking the halls and pathways of Black history and that brings joy to my soul.

Thus far, I have joined three organizations. I’m a member of the MLK International Chapel, Chapel Assistants program, which is a organization for young men aspiring to become ministers.  Morehouse Chaplain, Dr. Lawrence Carter is the  advisor of  the organization. I’m also a Chaplain Assistant at Spelman. I additionally joined a faith base and social justice organization at Spelman called Righteous Noise. We are currently planning a domestic violence play to be performed in October.  Through these organizations, I have met some very positive people.

I spoke with President Franklin and I have encountered Dean Carter frequently. I’m also working with Danny Bellinger in Admissions on bringing a student from Morehouse to Bates for either next semester or the fall semester 2009. I think I am making much progress with this.

The food here is great (o that southern food!) and I love the smoothies that are made at the campus hang out cafe similar to the one on “A Different World” where brother and sisters from Morehouse and Spelman congregate. I have met many students and every time I mention that I go to Bates, the brothers here immediately respond by saying you go to the college of MAYS. He is the man around these parts.

I’m taking four classes and they are: Thoughts of Howard Thurman (Independent Study), Thoughts of Marcus Study(Independent Study), Philosophy of Religion, African American History (Spelman College). For the most part, I’m enjoying the classes. I’m taking some of the better classes with some of the better professors here at Morehouse and Spelman. So I have a lot of work ahead of me. Classes here do indeed provide an education for liberation. I just admire the many conscience brothers and sisters in the entire AUC.

Yet I do miss the hospitality of many of the Bates staff including yourself, some of the nice facilities and a few other things about Bates. However, I love both schools for two different reasons. Getting here was not so smooth and when I got here there still were so many bumps in the road However, love it here and I’m so happy I decided to study here this semester.

I do miss the hospitality of many of the Bates staff, some of the nice facilities and a few other things about Bates. However, I love both schools for two different reasons. Arranging my off campus study stay here was not so smooth and when I got here there still were so bumps in the road. I love it here and I’m so happy I decided to study here this semester.

Yours in the Struggle,                

Brother Phillips

Published in: on October 13, 2008 at 3:47 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://brotherphillips.wordpress.com/2008/10/13/a-letter-to-bates-on-my-morehouse-experience/trackback/

