The Walk of a Man of Morehouse

2008-2009 Morehouse College visiting student

2008-2009 Morehouse College visiting student

Whenever I recall my yearlong study at Morehouse College in Atlanta, Georgia, I never fail to mention to people that the insignia of a Morehouse education emphasizes a moral imperative to serve. In a sense, at Morehouse, I entered a “fraternity” founded on brotherhood, academic excellence and service. Through this network, I became familiar with the values that strengthen Morehouse students to reach this plateau in life.

Men of Morehouse are not simply charged to become successful, they are charged to become great. This definition of greatness extends well beyond individual accomplishment; it insists that greatness reflects a communal experience with a focal point on uplifting their communities. Morehouse students are destined. They choose not to settle for mediocrity in their chosen life pursuits and render to themselves high self expectations.

They share several conventional assumptions common to their institutional values. These challenging, yet tangible objectives include being well read, well spoken, well traveled, well dressed, and well balanced. These pillars empower Morehouse students to optimize their potential in order to become the best servants to humankind.

Morehouse contributed to my intellectual and social growth. I arrived at a serious understanding of Afrocentricity through a class I took with Dr. Samuel Livingston. I have a newfound respect for the philosophical thoughts of Marcus Garvey and Howard Thurman due to the leadership of Dr. Aaron Parker and Dr. Walter Fluker. Moreover, my appreciation for African American history and its applications became alive under the guidance of Dr. William Jelani Cobb. The countless number of informal lunch and dinner conversations on issues affecting the world and the crown forums I attended with some of world’s most esteemed public servants increased my social consciousness. These experiences deepened my concern for social, political and economic justice for people of African descent.

I made numerous friends and partake in a unique social experience with students who have frivolous yet enjoyable conversations. Thrilling, prideful and excitement are words that best describe Morehouse’s social life. On any given week, I could hear the sound of the marching band, attend pageants, observe Greek step and stroll shows, and attend weekly block parties known as “Hump Wednesday”; all of which added to the intellectual satisfaction I received at Morehouse. morehouse brothers

Morehouse changed me for the better. I now have more confidence in myself and a better sense of purpose. Students who wish to form lifelong friendships and desire an education for liberation should consider attending Morehouse as an exchange student. It forever changed my life, and I’m sure it will change yours. For this, I thank God for Bates’ generosity for helping me enhance my identity. I thank Bates for extending me the opportunity to have experienced the walk of a Man of Morehouse.

Yours in the struggle, I am

Brother Phillips

Published in: on July 15, 2009 at 6:33 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://brotherphillips.wordpress.com/2009/07/15/the-walk-of-a-man-of-morehouse/trackback/

