2009 Freedom Summer Conference

anthony meI attended the 2009 Freedom Summer Conference in Oxford, Ohio. The conference supported my academic interests.

This academic year, I’m writing a year long  thesis in African American Studies that will examine the meaning behind whether Blacks shifted in support of two prevailing schools of thoughts: Black Integrationist and Black Nationalist social justice philosophies during the period of 1954-1968.  Several participants at this conference worked with leaders/organizers of both Black Integrationist and Black Nationalist social justice philosophies and tactics.  At this conference I received an opportunity to converse with those involved with Black Integrationist and Black Nationalist social justice philosophies during the period of my proposed study. Specifically, at the conference, I spoke with members of the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee, the Congress of Racial Equality and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People.

The conference inspired me to continue my commitment to community service and activism. Conference presenters and activists were extremely helpful in advising me on my thesis topic. They were able to provide me with personal testimonies on their experiences with the movement that I could not receive from any textbook.

I truly appreciate the support of Bates College’s Multicultural Center, the program in African American Studies and Affirmative Action Office for providing me with funding to make the trip possible.

Yours in the struggle, I am

Brother Phillips

Published in: on October 27, 2009 at 1:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://brotherphillips.wordpress.com/2009/10/27/2009-freedom-summer-conference/trackback/

