Integrity—Part of the Bates Way

Photo courtesy of the Bates College Office Services website

A few weeks ago, I was rushing to send off an important package. I pulled out my wallet to pay for the package, yet Bates’ mail center only takes cash or check. I placed my debit card on the counter, thinking that I would pick it up later and pulled out my checkbook.  I then left the mail center, happy that I finally delivered the package. A few hours later, I decided to go to Milts (campus variety store) to pick up some snacks for evening studying.  I reached for wallet to pull out my debit card and it wasn’t there. I said to my self “ughh I must have left it in the mailroom.” The mailroom was closed now.  I now had to wait until the next morning to see if it was still there.

The next morning, I returned to the mail room and one of Bates staff members was there. She said, “you left something here yesterday didn’t you.” I said “wow, thank you Jesus.” She had stored my debit card in a safe location and returned it to me. I was pleasantly surprised that it didn’t go missing or was stolen. I shouldn’t had been because integrity among folks at Bates is what makes our college special.

That’s Bates for ya. People here for the most part are honest and caring. That’s the Bates way!

 Yours in the struggle, I am

Brother Phillips

Published in: on February 1, 2010 at 4:33 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://brotherphillips.wordpress.com/2010/02/01/integrity-part-of-the-bates-way/trackback/

