California Love!! UCLA

Copyright UCLA

I have been offered admission to the University of California, Los Angeles M.A. program in Afro-American Studies. I’m thrilled about the opportunity to study at such a phenomenal research university for graduate school. I want to thank two of my mentors at Bates, Dr. Charles Nero a professor in the programs in African American Studies and American Cultural Studies and Rhetoric Department and Czerny Brasuell, the Director of  Multicultural Affairs, for supporting me throughout the graduate school process.  Bates has prepared me well for graduate school, yet I’m still nervous about the new environment. But I must admit, I’ve been playing the song “California Love” over and over again since I received word on my acceptance yesterday morning. Yet, I have not confirmed my attendance because I still have to some issues to work out before I make a final decision. However, I’m very happy about having this institution as an option. I’ll keep you posted.

African American Studies has been my life for the past four years and I want to continue to have an enriching experience in the field!  God is good!

BACK TO MY AFRICAN AMERICAN STUDIES THESIS! I can’t celebrate too long at all!

Yours in the Struggle, I am

Brother Phillips

Published in: on February 28, 2010 at 3:01 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://brotherphillips.wordpress.com/2010/02/28/california-love-ucla/trackback/

